Home | Deutsch | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
ZAK-Logo
Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo
Contact
Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo
Research area Public Science and New Media

jesus munozmorcilloQzl1∂kit edu
Tel.: +49(0)721 608‐48933

Genealogy of Popular Science

From Ancient Ecphrasis to Virtual Reality. International Conference, June 15-17, 2018, Fritz-Haller-Hörsaal, Building 20.40, Englerstr. 7, KIT Campus South Karlsruhe

 

Popular Science is an intricate phenomenon with socio-political, economical, and aesthetic dimensions. Because of this multi-layered reality, research in Popular Science is probably not completely covered by one single discipline. In interdisciplinary research fields such as Science Studies, the Sociology of Science, or Science and Technology Studies (STS), the approach to the phenomenon of Popular Science seems to be fed back by the issues of the present. Here, historical approaches are missing. The History of Science, on the other hand, lacks methodological approaches to explain the poly-medial dimension of Popular Science. Finally, philological and iconographic disciplines, such as Classical Philology or Art History, seldom bring into focus the dissemination of scientific and technological knowledge as a cultural practice.

 

The aim of the conference is to initiate an interdisciplinary, genealogically reflected debate about Popular Science as a recurrent cultural technique. The category Popular Science will be elucidated in an interdisciplinary and diachronic way, focusing on both its socio-anthropological construction and the formal and functional techniques, which characterize the dissemination of scientific knowledge in its production and reception contexts. For this purpose, philological and iconographic research approaches are especially welcomed, but other disciplines such as the Sociology of Science, the History of Science, and Gender Studies are also beneficial for the main goal. The multi-layered examination of the cultural technique "Popular Science" will throw light on a research field that has hardly been investigated so far.

The lectures given during the conference will be published in an edited volume.

  

Location
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Campus South, Karlsruhe.
Fritz-Haller-Hörsaal, Building 20.40, Englerstr. 7, KIT Campus South Karlsruhe.

 

Scientific Head
Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo, jesus morcillo∂kit edu, Tel. +49(0)721 48933
Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha, Director of the
ZAK | Centre for Cultural and General Studies
at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Rüppurrer Str. 1a, Haus B, 5. OG
76137 Karlsruhe

 

Organizers and Contact Persons
Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo, jesus morcillo∂kit edu, Tel. +49(0)721 48933
Stephanie Rothe, stephanie rothe9∂kit edu, Tel. +49(0)721 48933
Klemens Czurda, klemens czurda∂kit edu, Tel. +49(0)721 48933
ZAK | Centre for Cultural and General Studies
at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Rüppurrer Str. 1a, Haus B, 5. OG
76137 Karlsruhe

 

Scientific Partners

Institut für Kunst- und Baugeschichte at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT),
Fachgebiet Kunstgeschichte, Prof. Dr. Oliver Jehle, Dr. Alexandra Axtmann
Institut für Germanistik at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT),
Abteilung Mediävistik und Frühneuzeitforschung, Prof. Dr. Mathias Herweg

 

Selection Committee

  • Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo
  • Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha
  • Dr. Eva Noller
  • Prof. Dr. José Antonio Fernández Delgado
  • Dr. Laura Miguélez Cavero
  • Prof. Dr. Oliver Jehle
  • Dr. Oliver Hochadel
  • Prof. Dr. Mathias Herweg
  • Prof. Dr. Courtney Ann Roby
  • Andrea Geipel
  • Dr. Joachim Allgaier
  • Dr. Christine Mielke
  • Dr. Ralf Schneider

 

Patronage

The conference "Genealogy of Popular Science" is funded by the Schleicher-Stiftung in cooperation with the KIT-Stiftung. We would like to thank the Schleicher-Stiftung, the Commerzbank and the KIT-Stiftung for the great support that makes this project possible.

Since its foundation 5 years ago, the KIT-Stiftung has been promoting research, teaching, innovation and academic life at KIT. As a non-profit foundation under civil law, the KIT-Stiftung finances its tasks almost exclusively through contributions from friends and supporters. For further information about the KIT-Stiftung please visit its online presence at www.stiftung.kit.edu.

Banner: Detail of La scuola di Atene, Raphael (1509-1511) / Wikipedia

Home | English | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
ZAK Logo
Jesús Muñoz Morcillo
Ansprechpartner
Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo
Koordination Öffentliche Wissenschaft und Neue Medien

jesus munozmorcilloFka5∂kit edu
Tel.: 0721 608‐48933

Genealogie der Populärwissenschaft

Von der Ekphrasis zur Virtuellen Realität. Internationale Fachtagung, 15.-17. Juni 2018, Fritz-Haller Hörsaal, Gebäude 20.40, Englerstr. 7, KIT Campus Süd, Karlsruhe

 

Die gesellschaftliche Relevanz und die mediale Diversität der Populärwissenschaft sind politischen, ästhetischen und soziokulturellen Bedingungen geschuldet. Aufgrund dieser vielschichtigen Realität wird die Erforschung der Populärwissenschaft von keiner Fachdisziplin vollständig abgedeckt. In fachübergreifenden Disziplinen wie der Wissenschaftsforschung, der Wissenschaftssoziologie oder der Science and Technology Studies (STS) scheint die Annäherung zum Phänomen „Populärwissenschaft“ mit den Problemen der Gegenwart rückgekoppelt zu sein. Hier fehlt es beispielsweise an historischen Ansätzen. Die Wissenschaftsgeschichte hat sich in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten neuen methodologischen Werkzeugen zur Erläuterung polymedialer Phänomene geöffnet. Hier leisten text- und bildwissenschaftliche Disziplinen nach wie vor einen entscheidenden Beitrag.

 

Ziel der Fachtagung ist, eine fachübergreifende, genealogisch und epistemologisch reflektierte Auseinandersetzung mit den Ursprüngen und Transformationen der Populärwissenschaft als Kulturtechnik im Laufe der Zeit zu fördern. Die Kategorie Populärwissenschaft soll interdisziplinär und diachron beleuchtet werden. Im Vordergrund stehen sowohl die kulturelle als auch die praktische Dimension der Populärwissenschaft in Produktions- und Rezeptionskontexten. Hierfür sind insbesondere sprach- und bildwissenschaftliche Forschungsansätze vonnöten, z.B. über die populären Gattungen wissenschaftlichen Schreibens oder über die prägende Vermittlungsrolle der Kunst. Die perspektivenreiche Auseinandersetzung mit der Kulturtechnik Populärwissenschaft soll ein bislang kaum untersuchtes Forschungsfeld beleuchten und zu einem besseren Verständnis ihrer strukturellen und inhaltlichen Transformationen bis in die Gegenwart beitragen.

Es ist geplant, die während der Tagung gehaltenen Vorträge in einem Sammelband zur „Genealogie der Populärwissenschaft“ zu publizieren.

 

Austragungsort
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Campus Süd, Karlsruhe.
Fritz-Haller Hörsaal, Gebäude 20.40, KIT Campus Süd, Englerstr. 7, Karlsruhe.

 

Leitung
Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo, jesus morcilloYkx4∂kit edu, Tel. +49(0)721 48933
Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha, Direktorin des
ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft
und Studium Generale am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Rüppurrer Str. 1a, Haus B, 5. OG
76137 Karlsruhe

 

Organisatoren und Ansprechpartner/innen
Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo, jesus morcilloCis6∂kit edu, Tel. +49(0)721 48933
Stephanie Rothe, stephanie rothe9Yul5∂kit edu, Tel. +49(0)721 48933
Klemens Czurda, klemens czurdaGog2∂kit edu, Tel. +49(0)721 48933
ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft
und Studium Generale am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Rüppurrer Str. 1a, Haus B, 5. OG
76137 Karlsruhe

 

Kooperationspartner

Institut für Kunst- und Baugeschichte am KIT, Fachgebiet Kunstgeschichte,
Prof. Dr. Oliver Jehle, Dr. Alexandra Axtmann
Institut für Germanistik am KIT, Abteilung Mediävistik und Frühneuzeitforschung,
Prof. Dr. Mathias Herweg

 

Auswahlkomission

 

  • Dr. Jesús Muñoz Morcillo
  • Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha
  • Dr. Eva Noller
  • Prof. Dr. José Antonio Fernández Delgado
  • Dr. Laura Miguélez Cavero
  • Prof. Dr. Oliver Jehle
  • Dr. Oliver Hochadel
  • Prof. Dr. Mathias Herweg
  • Prof. Dr. Courtney Ann Roby
  • Andrea Geipel, PhD Candidate
  • Dr. Joachim Allgaier
  • Dr. Christine Mielke
  • Dr. Ralf Schneider

 

Förderer

Die Fachtagung „Genealogie der Populärwissenschaft“ wird von der Schleicher-Stiftung in Kooperation mit der KIT-Stiftung gefördert. Wir danken der Schleicher-Stiftung, der Commerzbank sowie der KIT-Stiftung für die große Unterstützung, durch die das Projekt realisiert werden kann.

Die KIT-Stiftung fördert seit ihrer Gründung vor 5 Jahren Forschung, Lehre, Innovation und Akademisches Leben am KIT. Als gemeinnützige Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts finanziert die KIT-Stiftung ihre Aufgaben fast ausschließlich über Zuwendungen von Freunden/innen und Förderern/innen. Weitere Informationen über die KIT-Stiftung erhalten Sie bei der Geschäftsstelle der KIT-Stiftung oder unter www.stiftung.kit.edu.

Banner: Ausschnitt von La scuola di Atene, Raphael (1509-1511) / Wikipedia